breaking into the unknown…

Undefined method fetch for false:FalseClass

Leave a comment

I was trying to deploy my rails app to server using much talked about new gem mina for rails deployment. After configuration and setup, I run mina deploy command to deploy the app, but encountered below error when mina is trying to run rake db:migrate

Undefined method fetch for false:FalseClass

On close look, I find that, mina is not able to find the database configuration for production environment and so throwing the error. Actually, mina deploy the code from the repository, specified in its configuration. My code was on git, but since I had set database.yml file to git ignore, it is not present in the repository. So, the solution is as below :

see tha database.yml file is present and accesible

add database configuration for the environment you running your application

In my case, I do not want to commit the database.yml file, so I left it to get ignore. I created a shared folder on server and added database.yml file to it with proper configuration for production environment. Then I reset mina configuration to use database.yml file from the shared folder. It resolved my error and successfully deployed my app

Author: arunyadav4u

over 7 years experience in web development with Ruby on Rails.Involved in all stage of development lifecycle : requirement gathering, planing, coding, deployment & Knowledge transfer. I can adept to any situation, mixup very easily with people & can be a great friend.

Leave a Reply

