breaking into the unknown…

requested resource (/openam/json/users/) is not available


I am experimenting out with openam (installation discussed here ) as solution to my single sign on ( SSO ) need when I got below error while making API call to its REST services. The detail of all its REST services is available here .

The requested resource (/openam/json/users/) is not available

This is very strange as I am making the calls exactly as specified in there documentation here . Some of the base URL they have mentioned as example  is as below. # for creating users # for updating user called bjensen

The documentation, expect json data in the payload

So, I’ am doing everything right, but strangely error keep occurring. From, the error itself I can figure out that the problem is with the REST API url they have documented i,e the URL itself is not valid. But, now what I can do. May, be Iam using older version of openam. But it is not the case as I have downloaded and installed the latest version 10.1.3 .

Pulling, my hair for hours, before deciding to use there older API available here .

Strangely, It worked. It specified the REST url as below # for user creation # for user updation # for user deletion

SOLUTION : Use the old REST API of openam instead of current one. The legacy API is documented here . I think, they have released the documentation before releasing the version which support it. So use the older API and it will work fine.

Author: arunyadav4u

over 7 years experience in web development with Ruby on Rails.Involved in all stage of development lifecycle : requirement gathering, planing, coding, deployment & Knowledge transfer. I can adept to any situation, mixup very easily with people & can be a great friend.

10 thoughts on “requested resource (/openam/json/users/) is not available

  1. Hi Author,

    I am also installing Open AM for test on a new box.

    installed oracle java, tomcat7.

    All worked fine.

    Tomcat stops and starts fine.

    Unpacked the open Am.war file.

    Placed it in webapps.

    Ran the url get apache link.

    Then ran with port 8080 and it shows Tomcat.

    Howevern when i do /openam it gives HTTP 404 error.

    Can you please assist with this.

    Catalina file is clean without errors.

    I am not using CORS Support as the moment.

    I am not too sure what can be the issue.

    If I curl with url:8080/openam I get HTTP 404 resource not available error

    • have you renamed the folder to openam after unpacking ?? . generally it get unpacked with the version number. say you have downloaded version 10.1.3 then the folder unpacked will be openam_10.1.3 , so calling /openam will not work

      • Thanks for your reply.
        Yes I have renamed the war file to openam.war
        After renaming it i have started tomcat.
        Tomcat comes fine without errors and there are no errors in catalina.log.
        If i see in manager i can see openam listed.
        I had read across various forum and comments.
        Can It be a problem with screwed web.xml.
        Much appreciation for your reply.
        Can you share your web.xml file with me or Can i share mine with you.
        Is there any other information i can provided which can assists us trouble shotting.
        My configuration is
        tomcat 7( i have tried with both 7 and 8)
        Java (Currently sun latest version i.e 7 but also tried with open JDK)
        Ubuntu 14.0

        Thanks for your reply

  2. Do we have to make any change in web.xml file/

    • It is long back that I have tried OpenAm for my own learning. As far as getting up with OpenAm is concerned, it was smooth. I didn’t made any change to web.xml. I have documented the installation process in the below blog :

      Go through it, to see if you get some clue .
      Also , try to see if any other application get served from your tomcat container or not.
      In my case , it was /var/lib/tomcat7/webapps/ .

      I have put the openAm folder in it and http://localhost:8080/openam started working.

      What is your URL ??

      • I already have tomcat but used your guide to install extra examples by

        sudo apt-get install tomcat7-examples

        This works

      • Thanks You very much for your Link.

        Actually initially i was not too sure which web server to use so i ended up installing jetty, web logic, jboss all of them.

        However I am now using Tomcat.

        Let me see what is in my tomcat7 folder.

        root@ip-10-30-142-144:/var/lib/apache-tomcat-7.0.55# ls -lrt
        total 116
        -rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 16204 Jul 18 14:41 RUNNING.txt
        -rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8963 Jul 18 14:41 RELEASE-NOTES
        -rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 1192 Jul 18 14:41 NOTICE
        -rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 56812 Jul 18 14:41 LICENSE
        drwxrwxrwx 2 root root 4096 Sep 2 10:48 bin
        drwxrwxrwx 2 root root 4096 Sep 2 10:48 temp
        drwxrwxrwx 2 root root 4096 Sep 2 10:48 lib
        drwxrwxrwx 3 root root 4096 Sep 2 10:53 work
        drwxrwxrwx 8 root root 4096 Sep 2 10:55 webapps
        drwxrwxrwx 3 root root 4096 Sep 2 11:53 conf
        drwxrwxrwx 2 root root 4096 Sep 2 14:25 logs

  3. This is Tomcat URL

    tHIS IS FOR openam

    These are web contents

    root@ip-10-30-142-144:/var/lib/apache-tomcat-7.0.55/webapps# ls -lrt
    total 83444
    drwxrwxrwx 3 root root 4096 Sep 2 10:48 ROOT
    drwxrwxrwx 14 root root 4096 Sep 2 10:48 docs
    drwxrwxrwx 7 root root 4096 Sep 2 10:48 examples
    drwxrwxrwx 5 root root 4096 Sep 2 10:48 host-manager
    drwxrwxrwx 5 root root 4096 Sep 2 10:48 manager
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 85414656 Sep 2 10:55 openam.war
    drwxrwxr-x 10 openam openam 4096 Sep 2 14:42 openam

  4. DUde,

    Thanks a lot for your help.

    It looks like the war file which we have used is doggy.

    There was no web-inf folder.

    I dont know why.

    This is what i have done.

    I have tkaen a latest war from a nightly build and i have unpacked it.

    No changes made and this is working now.

    My war had no web-inf folder.

Leave a Reply

